Retaining & Removing Election Files

Retaining Election Files

After certification of an election and before configuring a new election, all election files and data should be saved and configuration files removed from the previous election.
VotingWorks recommends retaining the following files after each election:
  • VxAdmin results file
  • VxAdmin tally reports
  • VxAdmin log
  • VxCentralScan CVR files
  • VxCentralScan backup files
  • VxCentralScan log
  • VxScan CVR files
  • VxScan backup files

VxAdmin

To save the recommended VxAdmin files, follow these steps:
  1. 1.
    In the Tally tab, select Save Results File
  2. 2.
    In the Tally tab, select View Unofficial Full Election Tally Report, select Save Report as PDF
  3. 3.
    In the Advanced tab, Export Log File
Save Results File
View Unofficial Full Election Tally Report
Export Log File

VxCentralScan CVR Files

VxCentralScan CVR files and backup files are saved on election night. If the CVR files were not retained for retention, follow the Exporting Cast Vote Records steps under Central Scanning.
Save the VxCentralScan log by navigating to the Admin menu and selecting Export Logs...
Export Logs

VxScan CVR Files

VxScan CVR files are saved onto USB drives at the precinct on election night. Retaining the files on the USB drives is sufficient. If the CVR file was not saved for a precinct be sure to save a copy (select Export Results to USB Drive) when saving the backup. To save the VxScan backup files, setup the VxScan and follow the following steps: 1. Insert an Admin Card
2. Insert a USB drive
3. Select Export Backup to USB Drive
Export Backup to USB Drive

Removing Election Files

Each VotingWorks component has a red button to remove election files.
In VxAdmin, go to the Definition tab, select Remove Election.
Remove Election
In VxCentralScan, go to the Admin screen, select Delete Election Data from VxCentralScan.
Delete Election Data from VxCentralScan
In VxScan, insert an Admin Card and select Unconfigure Machine.
Unconfigure Machine
In VxMark, insert an Admin Card and select Unconfigure Machine.
Unconfigure Machine